Join us for our Community Seder

2nd Night - Saturday, March 31 at 6:00 PM

Congregation Nahalat Shalom will host a Seder on  the second night of Passover. It begins at 6:00 pm, and will be led by Cantor Beth Cohen & Judy Brown along with The Nahalat Shalom Community Klezmer Band & Rikud Dancers.

The  suggested donation is $18/family. Nahalat Shalom's community Seder is a kosher-for-Passover vegetarian/pescatarian potluck dinner. Please label your food items as either Ashkenazi or Sephardi.  Bring your own ritual items (or arrange to sit with friends and share). For instance, you may want to bring a seder plate, charoset, hardboiled egg, roasted beet (instead of a shank bone), parsley, bitter herb and matzah. 

The synagogue will provide haggadot, table cloths, paper goods and cutlery. (Eco-kashrut alternative is to bring a washable place setting from home for your own use). Each table will be pre-set with a bowl of salt water and kosher for Pesach grape juice. If you would like wine, please bring your own.

If you have a camera and could bring it and take pictures to share for our website and Facebook page, that would be most appreciated!!

Children are totally and completely welcome. We will search for the afikomen after the meal and every child will receive a small gift, and there will be a special gift for the child who finds the afikomen.


What’s the difference between Ashkenazic and Sephardic food that is kosher for Passover??

Our Community Seder is vegetarian/pescatarian. There are different cultural groups within Judaism and they have different traditions around food for Passover. Some of us follow the Ashkenazic traditions [Germanic, Eastern European, Russian] and some of us follow the Sephardic traditions [Spanish families that were evicted from Spain in 1492].

No matter where your family came from, everyone enjoys fresh fruits and vegetables, eggs and dairy products during Passover. We avoid any foods that have leavening [yeast] or corn syrup in them, as well as those that are made from wheat [except kosher for Passover Matzah, matzah meal, etc.]. We also avoid anything made from barley, oats, spelt and rye. In practical terms, that means that we don’t eat processed foods, bread, pasta, cakes, cookies, biscuits, crackers or cereal unless they are specifically made to be eaten on Passover and the package is marked “Kosher for Passover”. In addition to these grains forbidden by both groups, Ashkenazi Jews also refrain from eating rice, corn [corn starch, corn syrup], millet, beans, soybeans and legumes, during Passover, while Sephardi Jews do eat them.

The Ashkenazi communities prohibit the use of rice, corn [corn syrup, corn starch], millet, buckwheat and beans, soybeans and soy products, and legumes, including peas and lima beans during Passover.

Please Label Your Food Items

In order to make it as comfortable as possible for everyone sharing in the potluck offerings, we ask that you bring a label that states whether your contribution follows the “Ashkenazic” or “Sephardic” traditions. As a courtesy to those who do not eat either fish or dairy, please label those items as well. Thank you for being mindful of the concerns of the members and guests of our community. 

Need some ideas?   See our Passover Recipes document.